top of page
  • Writer's picturechuck jocelyn

What did you say?!? (or pithy comments overheard in the shop)

When you are both in a project and you haven’t eaten much all day.

“Are you making supper?”

“No, are YOU making supper?”

“No, lets order something.”

“You order it.”

“I’ll order it and you pick it up.”

Fist bump


When you’ve expressed frustration and can’t get a piece of equipment to work the way you want.

“Just walk away for a minute and calm down “

“You want to use it don’t you? “

“Yes.”


When you hold up a half-built piece that you don’t really like.

“Do you like this?”

“It’s dog shit.”

“Yeah.”

Tosses into scrap barrel.


When you can’t find your safety glasses and you know someone moved them.

“Where are my damn safety glasses?”

“On your face.”

“Thats not where I left them!”


When you really want to weld two dissimilar pieces of metal together.

“Can I weld this to this?”

“No, that’s aluminum.”

“But I want to…..”

“OK, let me adjust the machine for you.” Randomly turning dials, adjusting gas etc

“What did you do?”

“I just changed the laws of physics so you can now weld aluminum to steel.”


When you’re not sure………

“I love you so much!”

Other person looks around to see if the dog is out there before responding.


When daughter opens shop door and looks like she needs a ride or some money…..but before she can ask.

“Come out and weld with us…..”

Daughter closes door.

“Why do you ask her that all the time.”

“Stops her from interrupting my work.”

“Nice.”










94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page