top of page
  • Writer's picturechuck jocelyn

You're Not There Yet or Sage Advice From Willie Nelson



We were at the Maple Festival a few weeks ago and things went well. We had a lot of positive feedback and sold quite a few items, it left us motivated to continue making art and get back in the shop. Everywhere we go the people are very nice to us and we always feel humbled by the positive feedback we receive. I did have a strange encounter though that left me to ponder my work.


An older gentleman bearing a resemblance to Willie Nelson stopped at our booth and looked over the tables with a critical eye. He looked at the giraffe and the pig, lingered on the skunk. He nodded slightly then made eye contact with me. His gaze was piercing, and his look was serious. Our art is many things but serious is low on the scale for reactions we generally get. He looked at me longer than was comfortable before speaking. When he spoke, it was quiet, so I leaned in a little not to miss any of his words.


“Your work is good, and I can see you in it.”


I nodded, accepting the praise.


“But”


There’s always a but…...


“But you’re not there yet. You’re on the right path so keep working at it. Keep putting the time in and you’ll get there. When you do, everyone will see you in your art, not just me. Don’t stop.”


He held my gaze for a minute, not expecting me to answer and then he was gone.


I looked at MJ and said, “Did you hear that?”


“Hear what?”


“Did you hear what that guy said?”


She shrugged “What guy?”


I looked down the aisle but couldn’t pick him out. I made a confused face and she shrugged again.


“He was right here, told me to keep working and that I wasn’t there yet……...my work was ok but I was just getting started.”


I wasn’t sure what to think but he sure got my attention and made me reflect on my effort, my goals, and my self-awareness. I’m just getting started. I do nice work, but I know how much I want to try and how better I will be as I stumble along improving every day. My mind has hundreds of pieces waiting to be built when I find the right scrap metal.


This past weekend I finished a piece and held it up to look at. It was nice, but I found myself looking at it with a more critical eye. I wondered if this quiet man who urged me to do better would approve or if he would say I was almost there but try harder.


Now I guess everything I make will be processed in my head that way.


Its good but try harder…….







56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page